Def Leppard to headline 3 European Festivals + 3 shows with Bon Jovi

Just announced! Def Leppard will headline 3 additional European Festivals next summer + 3 dates with Bon Jovi. See below for all info.

6 June – Sweden Rock Festival
Tickets on sale 1 November at 10am local

11 June – Slagmarken: Sonderborg, Denmark (with Bon Jovi)
Tickets on sale 2 November at 10am local

27 June – Trondheim Rock Festival
Tickets on sale 31 October at 9am local

29 June – Tons of Rock Festival
Tickets on sale 31 October at 9am local

3 July – Merkur Spiel Arena: Dusseldorf, Germany (with Bon Jovi)
Tickets on sale 2 November at 10am local

5 July – Olympiastadion: Munich, Germany (with Bon Jovi)
Tickets on sale 2 November at 10am local

HPR’s All Things Considered: Special Guest Def Leppard’s Phil Collen

If you were a 15 year-old in the audience when Def Leppard last played in Hawaii, you’d be 50 now. After three and half decades, with multiple music trends and fads having come and gone, the venerable rockers are still going, and are returning to the same place they performed a pair of shows in September 1983. Ahead of Blaisdell Arena concerts this Friday and Saturday night, HPR All Things Considered Host Dave Lawrence spoke with two key members of the group that, since their first visit to the Aloha State, have sold over 100 million albums, and plan to play one of them, the 25-million copy selling Hysteria, in its entirety while here. Today it’s the first of those guests: Def Leppard guitarist and backing vocalist Phil Collen.

When Love Bites hit no.1 we had never played it together

Def Leppard’s Phil Collen looks back at their hit Hysteria single Love Bites and admits that when it hit the top of the charts they’d never played it together in the same room

Def Leppard had never played Love Bites together in the same room when it hit the top of the charts back in 1988, says guitarist Phil Collen.

The song was just one of seven smash hit singles from 1987’s Hysteria – and was their only track to make it to no.1 on the Billboard Hot 100.

But in a new interview with Spotify’s Under Cover podcast, Collen says they struggled to pull the song together following its release as they had recorded it piecemeal in the years before the album’s release.

He says: “We’d never played Love Bites together when we released it. It was a studio song. We did bits and pieces here, and the next year we did some in another studio and tracked crazy vocals.

“We release it and it goes to no.1 on Billboard and we’ve never played it – our only no.1 Billboard single.

Pour Some Sugar On Me was no.2, Armageddon It was two, we’ve had top 10s and all that. This was no.1 and we didn’t know how to play it. It was a real struggle playing guitar and singing at the same time – there’s so many vocals on it, but we finally got it.”

Collen also talks about why they decided to cover Depeche Mode’s Personal Jesus for a Spotify session earlier this year.

He says: “We did a covers album called Yeah! and we made a point to not do Beatles, Stones or Zeppelin – the run of the mill stuff. When this session came up, what was really interesting was that everyone was going, ‘Maybe be could do an Eagles song or an Abba song.’

Read the full story on Louder Sound HERE

Announcing The Story So Far | Available November 30

Purchase The Story So Far – The Best Of here:

Listen to the new Christmas single “We All Need Christmas” now:

Purchase Hysteria: The Singles vinyl singles box set here:

Listen to “Personal Jesus” from The Story So Far here:

Closing out a banner 2018, Rock & Roll Hall of Fame® nominees Def Leppard reveal a string of upcoming releases. The group assemble a brand new greatest hits collection entitled The Story So Far – The Best Of, arriving in stores and online November 30, 2018. It will be available in multiple configurations: a 2-CD set comprised of 35 tracks, 1-CD comprised of 17 tracks, 2LP vinyl, and digital. Among a blockbuster tracklisting loaded with timeless smashes, all four versions feature three new songs, including the official recording of the band’s recent fan favorite Depeche Mode cover “Personal Jesus,” “Rock On (Remix),” and the original holiday song “We All Need Christmas.” As a bonus for collectors, the first pressing vinyl copies of The Story So Far feature an exclusive 7” single of “Personal Jesus” and “We All Need Christmas.” See full tacklisting below.

The pre-order just went live today, and it unlocks an instant grat download of “Personal Jesus.” Rolling Stone claimed it “features a little more of the group’s signature giant vocals…and to great effect.” Essential for newcomers and longtime fans alike, The Story So Far plays out like the ultimate Def Leppard set upheld by stadium-size hits.

Get the Story So Far HERE

Additionally, Def Leppard is sharing a brand new Christmas single titled “We All Need Christmas”. A delicate acoustic ballad, the track proves fireside-ready with its uplifting, hopeful spirit and sense of seasonal soul.

Listen to “We All Need Christmas” HERE and stay on the lookout for the music video’s debut soon 🎄

Next up on November 30, Def Leppard will release Hysteria: The Singles, a new limited edition, 10-disc vinyl box set featuring all of the 7” singles from the multi-platinum album Hysteria, which celebrated its 30th anniversary last year. Hysteria: The Singles features repressed versions of all eight 7-inch vinyl singles for Hysteria including their Top-5 hits “Pour Some Sugar On Me,” “Animal,” “Love Bites,” “Hysteria,” “Rocket” and “Armageddon It.” Two bonus singles, “Excitable”/”Run Riot” (Album Version) and “Love and Affection”/”Don’t Shoot The Shotgun” (Album Version), are only available in this box set.

Housed in a box with a lift-off lid, Hysteria: The Singles features new cover art made up of all 10 of the single’s sleeves, including the special Spanish “Animal” single, plus a booklet with a full band discography and an introduction written by Joe Elliott.

Get Hysteria: The Singles vinyl singles box set HERE

Everything sets the stage for what promises to be an even bigger 2019. Be on the lookout for more from Def Leppard soon.


Disc 1

1. “Animal”
2. “Photograph”
3. “Pour Some Sugar On Me”
4. “Love Bites”
5. “Let’s Get Rocked”
6. “Armaggedon It”
7. “Foolin’”
8. “Two Steps Behind”
9. “Heaven Is”
10. “Rocket”
11. “Hysteria”
12. “Have You Ever Needed Someone So Bad”
13. “Make Love Like A Man”
14. “Action”
15. “When Love & Hate Collide”
16. “Rock of Ages”
17. “Personal Jesus”

Disc 2

1. “Let’s Go”
2. “Promises”
3. “Slang”
4. “Bringin’ On The Heartbreak”
5. “Rock On (Radio Remix)”
6. “Nine Lives” (feat. Tim McGraw)
7. “Work It Out”
8. “Stand Up”
9. “Dangerous”
10. “Now”
11. “Undefeated”
12. “Tonight”
13. “C’Mon C’Mon”
14. “Man Enough”
15. “No Matter What”
16. “All I Want Is Everything”
17. “It’s All About Believing”
18. “Kings Of The World”


DISC ONE: Women / Tear It Down (US Version)

DISC TWO: Animal / I Wanna Be Your Hero (US Version)

DISC THREE: Hysteria / Ride in To the Sun (Int Version)

DISC FOUR: Pour Some Sugar on Me / Ring of Fire (US Version)

DISC FIVE: Love Bites / Billy’s Got A Gun (Live)(Int Version)

DISC SIX: Armageddon It / Release Me (Can Version)

DISC SEVEN: Rocket / Woman (Live) (US Version)

DISC EIGHT: Excitable / Run Riot (Album Version)

DISC NINE: Love and Affection / Don’t Shoot Shotgun (Album Version)

DISC TEN: Animal / Tear It Down (Spanish Artwork Version)